Hello world!

Posted: August 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

     I read about a man that finished school and moved to a remote town in the midwest somewhere. He got a job on a 500  watt radio station and began his first program with, “Hello, world.” I don’t want to be like that, and I am certainly not presumptious enough to think that a lot of people would read this blog and respond. But honestly, on the world wide web, it is “Hello, World.”

     I hope that somewhere along the way I will say something that makes people think about Jesus Christ. I hope that I will say something that prompts conversation and reflection. I pray that it will honor God.

     So let me pose this thought today. In John 15:15 Jesus says, “I have called you friends.” Two verses earlier in 15:13 he said, “Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.” I have always read that and thought of how great Jesus’ love for us is, that He would lay down His life on a cross for us. But what if we look at it the other way. That we are the friends who love enough to lay down our lives for Him.

     The apostle Paul wrote in Phil. 3:10, “that I might know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings…” It is not so hard to want to know Him, and to want to know the power of His resurrection. But to want to know the fellowship of His sufferings. WOW.

     Back to John 15. Jesus said in verse 11, “These things I have spoken to you that your joy may be full.” What if the fulness of joy only comes in the abandonment to lay our lives down for Him? I am not talking about intentional martyrdom or being careless. I am talking about abandoning ourselves fully to Him so that whatever He desires is absolutely our desire. In that surrender comes real joy. What do you think?

Comments
  1. Pamela Clark says:

    I think that is what we all need to strive to do. My biggest fear is one day standing before Christ and not being told what I did that I shouldn’t have, but being told all he had for me to do I did not obey and do. All the that I missed doing for Him because I did not abandon myself fully to Him.

Leave a Reply

