When Bad Christians Happen to Good People

Posted: September 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

“No, Lord, say it ain’t so.” “Have you ever been around folks at church and thought, if that is what it is like to be a Christian, I don’t want anything to do with it?” I certainly have. I have run into folks and thought, “If you got it, I don’t want it.”

One pastor wasn’t called because of the kind of shoes he wore. Another was fired because of the way he combed his hair. No, no, say it ain’t so. Whatever happened to the heart of David that said, “God forbid I should raise my hand against God’s anointed.” I guess God is getting old and needs some help. Not.

Think about the impact on new Christians, or the impact on people considering Jesus when they run into the church’s soured people. Not most. Most are sweet wonderful saints of God. But what about those few that leave a trail of destruction wherever they go. They snarl, and look mad. They complain and criticize.

I remember a song we sang as a kid in Bible school. “Joy is the flag flown high from the castle of my heart, from the castle of my heart. Joy is the flag flown high from the castle of my heart, when the king is in residence there.”

No doubt some have snuck in the church without being saved. No doubt some got saved, but have allowed bitterness to grow in their hearts. Let’s remember today that others are watching and we may be the only witness they see. Is the fruit of the Spirit evidenced in your life?
(Gal. 5:22-23)

As always, the names are left out to protect the guilty.

Leave a Reply

