How can they believe in Him of whom they have never heard?

Posted: November 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

Romans 10:13 holds such bright hope in front of us. “Whoever calls on the name of the Lord, will be saved.” It is so inclusive. Anyone can call on the name of the Lord. There is a sense, I believe, where it is exclusive also.You must call on “the name of the Lord”. Jesus Christ is the only way. (John 14:6).

Afterall He is either Lord, as He claimed, or as CS Lewis suggested he is either a liar or a lunatic. One of those three.

But here is the problem Missiologists have identified slightly more than 12,000 different people groups in our world. Of that, almost 3800 have no access to the Good News of Jesus Christ. There is no strategy to tell them they can call on the name of the Lord.

Imagine someone you love dieing of some disease. Imagine that a doctor and a hospital in one particular place could help them. But you do not know that. No one tells you that. So the person you love dies without access to the help that is available.

Jesus Christ can save anyone. But there are multitudes in our world who still have no access to the Gospel. Some people groups that have people trying to get the Gospel to them are so large in number and so remote and obscure that they haven’t heard either.

Who will tell them? Why not you? Why not me?

Comments
  1. I totally agree but we are not living in a Christian nation anymore. Other people are actually sending missionaries to our country. We need to be working on winning those around us and use our finances to send missionaries to go to these people that have no one there. There needs to be a strategy to identify them. But I don’t think that the same group of people, usually in churches, they are the few who can financially afford to go or the ones that the church pays the way of like the pastor or staff members. Most people could never afford to go financially no matter how badly they wanted to. But if we put our resources together, we can send someone to identify needs and then maybe another one to help evangelize. It would be a very limited number of people who could normally be sent by a church if the church paid the way. What about our missions programs that we pay into? Most of my missionary friends who are not Baptist spend months traveling around the states raising money so that they can go back to Croatia or Venezuela or wherever. They work hard and say that the Baptist missionaries live so high on the hog that the people don’t relate to them.

    • scoffeycarolina says:

      I feel like both of you are right. Not everyone is called to go to a foreign country. Not all of us are called to teach a class in church. God has made us all different with unique gifts that he has given us, for his purpose to use us. I see a comment that missionaries that aren’t Baptist say Baptist missionaries live high on the hog, really? Well, I am certain that the Baptist missionaries I met in Africa would beg to differ. In fact, two of them have spent their savings paying for a young boy’s operation, and through their witness, a doctor with Muslim faith sees a healing from God that he would have never known before this. God uses all of us in different ways and in different purposes. We shouldn’t be comparing how other missionaries are funding or be judgemnetal of them as the commentor had said her friends were. We should be praising God that someone else has been called to go.

      • I fully support Baptist missions and always have but when my friend Gaye was in Venezuela as a missionary to the deaf with TEAM, she was sad to see that the people around there thought that the Baptist missionaries’ standard of living was so far above how the people of Venezuela lived that they couldn’t and didn’t relate to them for the most part. I know of another friend who had the same experience. HEY, I’m a pk and many people complain when they see a preacher whose standard of living is so high above the average members standard. We never lived above the standard of the average member but I now know many ministers who do. I think that ministers should live however the Lord has provided for them to live and I certainly don’t think we should cut back on our missionaries. I am proud that Baptist missionaries don’t have to travel around the US raising their own support. And what I said is NOT true in every case. I was just pointing out that it IS true in many cases. My missionary friends who were not Baptists lived like paupers. I hated that they had to do that. I started out to say that when a church sends people on mission trips, it is usually only available to the people who could pay their own way which my husband and I never could. So the same people get to go over and over again on mission trips. My other point was that America is no longer the Christian country that it was and we desperately need to get the gospel out to those around us and wear Jesus well so that we win and disciple people through sharing the sweet fragrance of Christ as spoken of in II Cor 2 and being a leading a life through Christ that is read by those around us as spoken of in II Cor 3. I like to open up doors that give me the opportunity to share Christ to people I meet in the community. I want them to ask what is different about me because Christ lives in me. I don’t really think that any of us disagree. I think we are all just sharing different aspects of living out the gospel in this lost world. I wasn’t trying to be judgmental. If it seemed that way, I sincerely apologize. And it is great that those misssionaries spent their savings helping others. My friends were not being judgmental either. They were saddened by what they saw because they were Baptists, too, and they know that God can use everyone but if we are to help people sometimes we must try and meet them on their level. That is all. I don’t want to debate. I don’t have an axe to grind with anyone. And yes, God gives everyone different gifts. I am a Bible teacher, speaker and a writer who just happens for the time to be fighting a very difficult health condition or I wouldn’t have had time to get into this discussion anyway. 🙂 Sorry, if I offended.

Leave a Reply

