Thanksliving

Posted: November 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

I am thankful that God loved me while I was still in the very act of rebellion and yet gave His only begotten Son to die in my place at Calvary. I am thankful that once God wrote my name in His book of life, He never has forsaken me, never has threatened to abandon me, never has allowed me to be separated from His love. I am thankful that God is a God of second, third, and hundredth chances. I am thankful that for those who are in Christ Jesus there is now no condemnation. I am thankful that He took my sins as far as east is from the west.

I am thankful that in the Providence of God I was born in a land where I would be free to worship, and where I would have the opportunity to know Him. I am thankful for the opportunity He gives to share the Good News with peoples around the world that were not that privileged. I am thankful for the men and women who gave their lives to make this land free, and who defend her still today.

I am very thankful for all that my Mom and Dad provided me in life to give me the opportunities that I had early. I am thankful that my Mom still cheers me on. I am thankful for the best wife ever, and that she continues to believe in me and encourage me, and take care of me. I am thankful for each of my five girls, for my two son-in-laws and for my three grandchildren. I am thankful I get to see them all today.

I am thankful for the people who caught the vision of “Church Unleashed” and have endured the difficulties of the transition. Because God tells us to give thanks for all things, and because I know He is in charge, I am even thankful for those who not only did not catch the vision but have said less than kind things about me. I thank God for the fresh and new opportunity that He is giving us as a church family to make a difference in this community. I am thankful for each day that God gives.

I am thankful for the International Mission Board of the SBC and the five thousand plus missionaries and employees that labor as partners with other Great Commission Christians to seek to get the Gospel to every people group in the world. I am thankful that it is making a difference.

I am thankful that one day Jesus Christ is coming again to establish His kingdom rule and that all of His enemies will become His footstool. I am thankful that God is going to bring about a new heaven and a new earth. I am thankful that “whoever calls on the name of the Lord” will be saved.

I am thankful that “Greater is He that is in me than He that is in the world.” I am thankful that “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” I am thankful that He will never leave me nor forsake me. I am thankful that the Lord is my shepherd and I will not want. I am thankful for the privilege of prayer by which I can enter into the very Presence of the one true and living God in Jesus Christ’s name. I am thankful that He has called me friend. I am thankful that there is coming a day with no sorrow, no pain, no death, no sin. I am thankful for prayers that God has said “No” to. I am thankful for all the promises of the Bible.

I am thankful for the incredible privilege that has been mine to receive a great education. Most recently I am thankful for the incredible opportunity afforded me by CIU to work toward my DMin, and I am thankful that the goal is now in sight. I am thankful for the Word of God. I am thankful for so many encouragers and friends.

There are literally hundreds of things, thousands of things I could continue to list. But we need to name our many blessings and give thanks each and every day. WE should thank God for the trials of life by which He perfects us. We should live in an attitude of gratitude.

One last thing. I thank God that I grew up to be a Clemson Tiger, and not a Garnet and Black Chicken. (Just having fun here at the end. I am thankful to be a Tiger, but I love my Gamecock friends.)

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    I am thankful for all the things you are plus one more. I am thankful that you are my pastor.

Leave a Reply

