Marvelous, Infinite, Matchless Grace!

Posted: November 26, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Someone asked the other day, “Do you believe in unconditional love?” The answer to that question for me is an unreserved “Yes.” Having affirmed that, however, I must confess that I cannot comprehend unconditional love. I am confident that only God is capable of completely loving unconditionally.

God’s Word teaches that God is by His very nature the essence of love. I John 4:8,16 state, “God is love.” It is God’s love that drew salvation’s plan. And yet God’s justice provided the means of salvation. Unconditional love is based upon absolute righteousness. God who is absolutely righteous paid the debt of our sin so that we might experience His grace.

Grace is an amazing possibility. Grace is receiving something we do not deserve and could never merit. That is the whole foundation for us having a relationship to the one true and only living God. God loves us because of who He is, not because of anything we have done or could ever do. Honestly, we could never under any circumstances merit or deserve God being gracious to us.

Romans 5:8 says, “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” In other words, before we ever thought of God, sought after God, or even desired God, He loved us. He provided a way for us before we ever sinned. It is beyond human ability to comprehend the marvelous, infinite, matchless grace of God.

Pride stands in our way. It stands in our way on the one hand when we think we can do anything without God. When we think that we can be our own “god” by being in charge of our lives, we refuse to submit to God. On the other hand, and we call it an inferiority complex, it is pride that says I have to do something to merit being loved, and since I cannot, God could never love me.

Experiencing God’s grace, and therefore, His incredible love, is a surrender of faith. It is a humble admission, I do not nor could I ever deserve it, but God loves me anyway. It is understanding that I can never do anything to make Him love me more, nor can I ever do anything to make Him love me less. He loves me unconditionally, because He is God.

Leave a Reply

