fantasy or faith? Wishful thinking,or Promised?

Posted: December 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

We all talk about having faith. We speak of faith in one another, faith in systems or philosophies, faith in God. But I wonder how much of our faith is more in the order of fanciful thinking on our part. Consider the Word of God. God says, “Faith comes by hearing, hearing by the Word of God.” (Romans 10).

Faith is not wishful thinking. It is built upon fact. God is real and cannot lie. He lives outside of history, so what He says will happen, from His perspective has happened. Sometimes I hear people say, “God said it, I believe it, that settles it.” But that is wrong. “God said it, that settles it, whether I believe it or not.”

So when we speak of faith, what do we mean? Are we placing our faith in our feelings? When I feel close to God, and I feel good about my religious beliefs, then I have faith. But when trials come and it is difficult, and I feel afraid, or discouraged, or even depressed, then I struggle to believe. That is evidence of faith in feelings.

WHen I invest my confidence completely in what God has said, I exercise faith in fact. That faith sustains and guides me. That kind of faith walks through the valleys, as well as on the mountain tops. That faith is not shaken even when all others forsake. So are you living with fantasy? Wishful thinking? Confidence in feelings? Or are you living by faith in a God who loved you so much He gave His one and only Son to bear the penalty of your sin and shame? Faith in fact leads us to faithful living.

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    AMEN….. I LOVE THIS POST.

Leave a Reply

