What Will You Do with a New Year?

Posted: December 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

All across America it has become somewhat traditional to write resolutions for the new year. I will lose 30 pounds. I will spend more time with my family. I will go to church more than just Easter and Christmas. I will find a new job. I will read a book. I will take more time to play golf or go fishing. And for many they will fall by the wayside.

It seems to me that we all have three choices with our year ahead. We can spend it, we can waste it, or we can invest it. I vote for investing. We all have the same number of hours and minutes and days ahead of us. For some each day will come and go, and whatever happens happens. No plan, no strategy, just whatever. Wasted.

Others will use it up on their dreams and ambitions. Spend it. You only go around once so grab all that you can. WHen you die, whoever has the most toys wins.

But what if we have been created for a greater purpose (we have)? What if life is to be so much more (It is)? God created us to glorify Him. We are here for His purpose. So let me challenge you to invest your life this year in advancing the Kingdom of God.

In Matthew 4 Jesus called some fishermen, and he said, “Come, follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” Here is the simplest explanation I know of that tells what it means to be a Christian and to engage in God’s plan. Jesus challenges us to leave behind our plans for His. Jesus calls us to follow Him, and then He promises to change us and use us in His mission.

Consider how you will spend, waste, or invest 2012.

Leave a Reply

