The Fruitcake is getting stale, Toys are Broken, and the Lights are Out!

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

It has been a week and a day now since Christmas 2011 has come and gone. It is time to take the tree down, put the decorations in the attic, and trudge into the new year, for most. Children are headed back to school and some of the toys that were shiny and exciting under the tree have been broken, or abandoned. Life heads back to “normal”.

In 2007, our church began an adventure in West Africa. We carried the Gospel into a village where it had never been before. For the first couple of years it was exciting and new, challenging. There was a thrill and lots of volunteers and plenty of money seemed to appear for each person to go. But that was five years ago. There is nothing shocking about the poverty and hunger anymore. The stories of helping children and seeing people saved are taken for granted. And like last year’s Christmas toys, we have moved on.

Why is it that our hearts are so quickly calloused? Why is it that we are so easily distracted? Why do we tend to remain so self absorbed? Who will go? Who will pray? Who will financially support?

Day by day my heart aches more and more for our friends who struggle in the bush village. I wake up at night with them on my mind and in my prayers. What will it take until the church is willing to die to self, and make the sacrifices necessary to carry the Gospel to every person in every land?

I am drinking my second cup of coffee. It is made from a single cup “Keurig” coffee maker. I can choose the flavor from a variety pack. In a few moments I will prepare myself more breakfast than I need. I will enjoy the last holiday before getting back into the routine by watching Nebraska defeat the Gamecocks ( or maybe miracles still happen). My friends in the bush of West Africa will eat the grey and gritty “toe” dipped in some peanut sauce, if they are fortunate. Some will die from absessed teeth, some from malnutrition, some giving birth, and some at the ripe old age of 45. Most will die without Christ, and multitudes without ever even knowing that Jesus came into the world to save sinners.

Our churches will argue over the style of music, which translation of the Bible, and whether or not it is time to fire the preacher. Less than 2% of our churches will grow by conversion growth, and most will relegate “God” to some tiny box in the corner of their mind. Yes, He could, but He proably won’t do anything, or so most will think.

I am not trying to be pessimistic or negative. But I want to say, “Wake up Christians.” I want to say, “Go to the work, Church.” Our time is now. Our God is great. Even so, come Lord Jesus.

Comments
  1. Delores says:

    I like You Brad, Pray that We will allow God, to enter Our Hearts. I Pray that We will commit to reaching those that have not heard Jesus name, and that We will in 2012 be more bold! I Pray that as a Church We will see the need in reaching out to West Africa, and beyond, that is what We are told to do. I would hate to think that We miss a chance to tell others, and something happens to them, and We slept through it, what a burden on Our Hearts We wil have to carry. I want to do all God ask Me to do and do better in 2012 than I did in 2011, I ask all to join in and let’s take God’s word to everyone We meet or in West Africa, whereever God leads Us. Let’s do a better job in Our Church!!!!!

Leave a Reply

