Ten Things I Won’t Do in 2012, well maybe Five Things, or Some Things I won’t Do.

Posted: January 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

I saw the title “Ten things I Won’t do,” and I thought what are those for me. ANd I could jot down things like, I will absolutely not pull for the Carolina Gamecocks, and while that is a sure thing, I don’t want to focus on that. I will Liely never eat spinach or turnip greens, but hardly worth a blog. And if I say, I will not break any of the tne Commandments, I am in trouble because of the standard that Jesus set. And I Cor. 10:12 warns, “Let everyone be careful when he thinks he stands on sure footing, lest he fall.” SO rather than raise the ire of the enemy to tempt me even harder, I will not say I will never…

But I do know this. In 2012 I will never ever do anything that will make God love me more than He already does. He loved me while I was in rebellion and sin enough to give Jesus to die on a cross in my place. Romans 8 overflows with assurance that I cannot earn or lose God’s love. He loves me because of who He is, not because of anything that I do.

So secondly, in the same light, I will not do anything in 2012 that will cause God to love me any less. His steadfast love never fails, the BIble says. I may disappoint and grieve Him. He may discipline me as a Father does a child, but I cannot and will not lose His love.

A third thing that comes to mind is that I will not do anything in my own strength and ability that will achieve greatness for God. Jesus said in John 15, <em>”Apart from me, you can do nothing.” Isiah said that all of the best works of righteousness we do in our own strength are as dirty rags before God. But as Paul reminds me, “I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.” I can do great things for the Kingdom of God, but only when I do them in His strength.”

One last thought. I will not build Christ’s church. I hear people talking about that from time to time. Jesus told me in Matthew 28 to make disciples. He promised in Matthew 16 that He, Jesus, would build His church. S
O if I make disciples, He will build the church. Amen and Hallelujah.

Comments
  1. Joyce Anthony says:

    I enjoyed reading this article, Brad! You are right! God cannot love us any more or any less! We make our own choices in this life……some good and some not so good, but His unfailing love is steadfast! We can choose how we respond to all of our encounters! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Bill Swick says:

    Enjoy your blog!

Leave a Reply

