House Divided

Posted: January 10, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Do you remember where you were on September 11, 2001? I was seated at my desk at the sign company my wife and I owned, when the first employee came in and said, “Something is happening. A plane has crashed into the Twin towers in NYC.” I drove to the church I attended at the time and sat in the pastor’s office and watched on his TV. We sat there in stunned silence.

I lived through the Vietnam era, and all of the issues surrounding that war divided us. But amazingly 9/11 brought us together for a little while. I remember singing “God bless America” at the next football game I attended. Everyone sang a little louder. Everyone was proud to be an American. It was a time of coming together.

It is amazing to me what divides us. We have just finished football season. I have listened to people try and sound gracious, but throw out their digs at the other team’s fans. I have done my share, and I have received my share from others. But the college pigskin season is over. And who really cares about the professional titans on Sundays? (Just kidding). But that too will soon be over.

So now what? Democrats vs. Republicans. Ethnics against each other? Even Baptists versus whoever? Or husbands against wives, parents against children, dogs against cats? I mean just fill in the blanks. It seems we are living in a nation that we are living in a day and time where we like to be divided. Or is it that we just can’t see beyond ourselves. “Me”! That is it, I am all that matters. I deserve a break today. I should “have it my way”. I am the master of my own destiny.
I am only going around once, so I better grab all I can.

Religion? Well, anything goes, and we should be tolerant of all, except those Christians. Let’s all go after Tebow. WHo does he think he is bringing Jesus to our football games? Atheist. Agnostic. Muslim. Catholic. Buddhist. Scientologist. So what did Pilate say for all of us 2000 years ago, “What is truth?”

Jesus said, “I am the truth.” Can you handle the truth?

Leave a Reply

