How Do You Feel About Thorns?

Posted: January 11, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Seriously, how do you like having a thorn in your flesh? In front of our mud hut in West Africa we planted a tree, called a “jack-fruit” tree. Because the animals will eat anything and everything, you have to build a ‘hedge’ about it until it is big enough that it won’t be a problem. Well, those hedges are typically full of thorns.

One night I had to heed the “call of nature” in the middle of the night. So stumbling from my ‘mosquito tent’ toward an appropriate place, I brushed against the hedge and got a huge thorn in my leg. OUCH, did it hurt, and for days. I removed the thorn, but it was a wound for a little while. Imagine that thorn, day in and day out.

The apostle Paul described an incredible experience that he had. In 2 Corinthians 12 he speaks of seeing into heaven. But then he says that God sent a “messenger from satan” to aggravate him in order to keep him humble. He described that “messenger” as a ‘thorn in the flesh’. He prayed three separate times for God to take it away, but that was not God’s desire. Instead, God promised, “My grace is sufficient for you.”

Have you learned that? I am still learning that daily. I have a “thorn in the flesh” right now that God has not chosen to remove, and perhaps you do also. Remember, God loves us and desires His best for us. His grace is sufficient. In considering that, I also remember that James wrote and said, “God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” So I choose to humble myself before God and seek His all sufficient grace. May God be gracious to you today. Be blessed.

Comments
  1. Ann Addison says:

    Thank you Brad.

Leave a Reply

