The Long and Winding Road

Posted: January 13, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

That title seems familiar. A song from my college days, and sung by the great theologians, “The Beatles”. But there is a long and winding road that so many travel. It is a road that leads to nowhere except destruction and death. It is the wide road that most travel, a Nazarene once said.

I remember hearing someone say, “It will take you farther than you wanted to go; it will keep you longer than you wanted to be; it will make you pay a price higher than you wanted to pay.” The “it” is sin. Sin is not relative. Sin is not found on a list of do’s and don’ts. Sin is rebellion against the God who created you.

God made man and woman for Himself. But Adam and Eve said, “We will be our own gods.” And they chose sin. For most of us it is much more subtle. It begins slowly. It has at its center, the letter “I”. sIn. I want, I will, I must, I can… I deserve. It is me, me, me, me. It is all about me.

I spend so much time with people who have made their choices, and made bad ones. Then they are praying desperately that God not allow the consequences of their sins to catch up with them. It is like sowing seed in fertile soil getting adequate rain and sunshine, but then praying that the harvest will not come in. I will have unprotected sex outside of the confines of my marriage, but God please don’t let me catch a disease, or have pregnancy result, and please don’t let my spouse find out. I will drink and drive, but God please don’t let me get caught or hurt anyone. God I will jump off the Empire State Building, but please don’t let me die.

We can make our own decisions and choices; God has created us that way. But we cannot choose the results of those choices.
Sin when fully conceived always results in death. The death of hopes and dreams. The death of marriages. The death of ministries. Sin takes you on a long and winding road that ultimately leads to hell.

There is another choice. It is a narrow road that few take. It is the Jesus Road.

Leave a Reply

