What if God is too late?

Posted: March 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

Most of us have in our heads and hearts the reality that God can do anything He choses to do. I often hear people say, “I know God can, but I don’t know if He will.” I was talking to my good friend Steve Flockhart this morning and he reminded me of John 11, and the story of Lazarus.

Lazarus and his two sisters were good friends of Jesus. Lazarus was sick, and so his sisters sent word to Jesus that Lazarus was sick. And when Jesus found out, He deliberately waited two more days before He went. It is an odd statement in the Bible. THe text says, Jesus loved Lazarus and so he waited two more days. Huh? “God, if you really love me, where are you? Why don’t you do something?”

When Jesus finally arrives, Martha says, “Jesus you are too late? If you had been here, my brother would not have died. But you didn’t come in time.” Jesus says, ‘You will see your brother live.” She says, “I know he will live again in the Resurrection.” Jesus says, “I am the Resurrection. Do you believe this?”

She doesn’t really answer his question. She says, “I believe you are the Messiah.” How often are we like this? How often are we guilty of saying, “I know God can provide. But I have prayed and He hasn’t done anything.” And we become impatient.

Now we know the story. Jesus does indeed raise Lazarus from the dead. And the truth is, God is never too late. He is always right on time. The question is the same for us as it was for Martha. Do we believe Him? Do you?

Leave a Reply

