If it’s to be, it’s up to…

Posted: March 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

I heard someone say one time, “If it’s to be, it’s up to me.” Most of us want everything to be up to someone else. We want to sit back and enjoy what everyone else does. But if we all do that, then what…”

In the imaginary land of “Hub-bub”, the king and his court decided that they would set a record for the loudest noise anyone had ever made. They determined that on a particular day at a particular time they would signal and give the command and everyone would make all the noise that they could. The decree went throughout the land and everyone was informed.
But one person thought, “I really want to hear that noise.” I cannot hear it if I am making noise, so I will open my mouth, but I won’t really make any noise, I will listen.

One by one throughout the land many had that same thought, until all had that thought. So on the day that the signal was given, everyone listened. Everyone thought someone else would be making the noise. As a result nobody made any noise. WHen everybody thinks anybody can and surely somebody will, usually nobody does. Nobody ends up being the busiest one around. But what if everybody took action?

Now add to that mix the power of God. Zechariah 4:6 reminds us, “Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit.” So what if we change it from “If it’s to be, it’s up to God working through me.” What if we all thought that way? What would happen to world hunger? What would happen to the homeless? What would happen to the sex slavery of our day? What would happen with sharing the Gospel to the ends of the earth? One plus one plus one plus one. You can make a difference. I can make a difference. Most of all, together, with God working through us.

Leave a Reply

