Dad’gum Pine Trees

Posted: March 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

On Friday afternoon I started one of the spring time chores, cleaning up the yard. My house sits back from the road amidst a lot of pine trees and sweet gums. (I will fuss about the sweet gums another day.) But I began to rake and use a leaf blower to try and get up the leaves, and of course the blasted pine straw and pine cones, and some little orange thingies the pine tree keeps dropping.

So now I have piles of pine straw around the yard that I still have to bag up and cart off. But these little orange “thingies” keep falling. I took the blower and cleaned the porch and the drive way of them on Friday afternoon. My wife and I went to supper and when we returned home, guess what? That’s right, my drive way was covered with orange “thingies” again. They are about an inch and a half long and quarter of inch in diameter. But I have millions of them. So Saturday morning, I took the blower and cleaned the porch and drive way again. By mid afternoon, guess what, orange thingies everwhere.

That doesn’t even take into account the pollen from the pines. It is a yellowish green, and it covers everything. So wash the cars twice a day, and still they are greenish yellow. It is everwhere.Come to think of it, I don’t think that there is a time of year that the pine tree is not dropping some kind of stuff in my yard.

I love to hear the wind blow through the pines. I love to smell the pine. But I hate the pine cones and the pine straw, and the orange “thingies” and the pollen everwhere. I keep having to clean it up.

So it occurs to me this morning that my life is like that. God loves me and gave His Son to die on the cross for my sins. And He cleans me up. But somehow I mess up, again and again, and again. Yet, God faithfully comes and cleans me up. Maybe the pine trees are there to remind me how much trouble I am for God, and yet He loves me.

 

Leave a Reply

