Are there Zombies in the Bible?

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Recently I was looking on the CDC website (Center for Disease Control) and I noticed they had a posting for how to survive a Zombie attack, and I thought, “seriously?” According to Webster, a “Zombie” is a west indian superstition about dead people’s bodies rising from the dead.This is the real meaning of “dead man walking” I guess.

This morning I was reading in Matthew 27 related to the events surrounding the crucifixion and read these words,”The tombs were opened, and many bodies of the saints who hade fallen asleep were raised;” (NASV). What caught my attention was it said their “Bodies” were raised. It didn’t say, “They were raised.”

Now don’t misunderstand me. I believe in a bodily resurrection of the saints. I am not putting an emphasis here that should suggest they not be raised bodily. It just struck me as odd that the text did not simply say, “They were raised.”

No, I don’t believe these are Zombies. I don’t believe these are the “walking dead.” I am simply calling attention to how fascinating the scriptures really are, if you read them and pay attention.

Maybe I don’t think the way most think. I have been accused of being “nuts” before. But the apostle Paul said something about being out of his mind for Jesus. So think about it. There is a resurrection of the dead. As a precursor to the final resurrection, concurrent with the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus some of the saints were raised. Another verification of the truth of His divinity.

Leave a Reply

