Seriously, I am supposed to thank God for that?

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

Last night I went with a group from our church to visit another growing church in our area to gain insights from their experience. They had a guest preacher, Steven Furtyck from Elevation Church in Charlotte. He preached a message that he called, “The Gratitude Factor.” It was amazing that the text from which the message came was Daniel’s experience in the lion’s den.

Can you imagine being thrown into a den of hungry lions and giving God thanks for those circumstances? As he mentioned, I had never seen this in all my readings of Daniel. I knew he prayed, but listen again to Daniel 6:10. “He got down on his knees three tiems a day and prayed and gave thanks before his God, as he had done previously.” I remembered that Daniel was thrown into the lion’s den for his faithfulness to pray. I remembered he opened the windows and did this three times a day, even after the king had warned it would result in death. But what I had missed was that “he gave thanks before his God.”

Anyone can be thankful when everything is going their way. People who have no knowledge of God, and no relationship to Jesus Christ can be thankful for all the good things in life. But how do you do what James says, “Count it all joy when you encounter various trials and tests?” How can you give thanks for the hard things, and the trying things in life?

The preacher reminded us that the events of our lives don’t have to be our final destination. That when an “unchangeable circumstance meets an unchanging God, God always wins.” This morning I spent all of my prayer time reciting many of the reasons that I have to be thankful. I included so many trials of late, and so many thorns in my flesh as well. As Furtyck said, “Grateful people can find a blessing, embrace a blessing, or create a blessing in about any situation.”

Comments
  1. Great message….thanks for helping us remember…..

Leave a Reply

