Zip It!

Posted: April 10, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Our mouths are very useful parts of our body. That may be a classic understatement. Obviously, we use them for eating and drinking. They are pretty good for kissing. I find mine is often useful to serve as a “third hand” to hold things when no one is around to help. But they are also extremely important to the communication process.

The Bible says, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue.” (Prov. 18:21). Let that sink in for just a moment; with our mouth we can give out life, or death. That destroys the myth that sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can never hurt me.

One of the things that God declares that He hates is a lying tongue. Not bearing false witness is so bad it made the “Big Ten” (commandments). With our tongue we can destroy reputations, wound spirits, and essentially kill other people emotionally.

As a result, God’s Word clearly says, “Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as it fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.” (Ephesians 4:29). In fact, as I search the Bible, I discover three things that fit the bill for what God allows: Exaltation, Evangelism, and Edification. (I admit it, the preacher in me made me alliterate.) God gave us our “tongue” to exalt and praise Him, to evangelize or witness to the lost, and edify, or build up one another. If you are going to speak anything else, I think the words of the title of this post apply, “Zip it.”

Some may need to apply this to their ears. Some take pleasure in “hearing” juicy gossip as much as in saying it. So maybe you need to zip your ears.

If you were an Andy Griffith fan, you may remember the episode where Barney Fife kept saying, “Nip it, just nip it in the bud.” So in my best Barney Fife imitation, “Zip it, just zip it right up.”

Comments
  1. Pam Horton says:

    Ouch! This one always gets me because I open my mouth way too much! Always have but do not always have to! Thanks for the reminder, again……..

  2. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re wonderful!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

