“I’s done speared the devil.”

Posted: April 17, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Before my paternal grandfather died, my Dad’s oldest brother interviewed him. It began initially as a quest to trace the family genealogy so that my uncle could be a part of the Sons of the American Revolution. But for me it is simply fascinating to read some of the stories from my grandfather’s childhood. He grew up around Little River, S.C.

One day when he was a small boy, he and one of his brothers went back behind where they lived to one of the small canals that ran off of the main waterway. They went down there to gig for flounders. My grandfather saw something move slightly, but it was well camouflaged in the sand. Assuming that it was a flounder, my grandfather jabbed it with the gig. The next thing he said he recalls was finding himself tossed to the other side of the channel. He hollered at his brother, “Quick, go get Uncle Willie, I’s done speared the devil.” Pretty soon Uncle Willie showed up with a shotgun and declared, “I’m here to shoot the devil.”

It provides some lite hearted laughter, but the truth is, warfare with the spiritual enemy of our soul is no laughing matter. Ephesians 6:10-20 tells us to “Be strong in the Lord” and to “put on the whole armor of God.” Thankfully, God has provided us everything we need to live from Victory to Victory.

Comments

Leave a Reply

