I Choose Joy.

Posted: April 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

Is it just me, or do Mondays seem to come around more frequently than any other day of the week? I know that we have an equal number of each of the seven days, but it just seems like it is always Monday. For some of you I know Mondays means the end of the weekend and back to work. For me, well as a pastor, everyone knows I only work on Sundays. (A joke, for those who don’t know me well.)

Actually Monday mornings always seem to confront me with the Blues. The Monday morning, “preacher blues”. I haven’t figured it out. It can be a great Sunday at church, a mediocre day at church, or even a not so great day, but it is the same. It is such a joy to me to worship, and to have the privilege to share the Word of God, that the thought of Sunday being seven days away is, well, it seems so far.

Maybe there are days that you struggle more than others. Maybe it is the day that you have a test at school, or a doctor’s appointment. Maybe it is a day at the office that you anticipate will be especially challenging. Maybe you have a day that you think will bring some form of sorrow.

But God’s word says, “This is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.” It seems so many emotions are a part of our “response mechanism”. I think we can choose “joy.” After all, it is my conviction that God never asks us to do something that He has not equipped us for or will not enable us to do. In Philippians, Paul wrote, “Rejoice in the Lord, and again I say rejoice.” The Bible teaches, “The joy of the Lord is our strength.”

God is on His throne. That is true today, and everyday. We learn from Job’s experience (ch.’s 1 and 2) that the enemy can only do what God allows. We know that God desires welfare for us according to Jeremiah. We know that God loves us unconditionally. So I believe we can choose joy.

We can begin to worship in prayer. We can break out in positive songs of faith. We can give thanks and praise the Lord no matter what circumstances we face. So today is Monday. And tomorrow is Tuesday, and then the others follow. Each day is a precious gift of God. I will choose joy. And I will seek to honor God with how I spend the minutes of this day.

Comments
  1. I choose Joy also…Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

