Some through the fire . . .but all by the blood.

Posted: May 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

The Word of God cautions that we not be surprised at the fiery trials that come our way. A good friend of mine sent me an email this morning, applying the story of Shadrach, Meschach, and Abednego to a situation in my life. I love that story, don’t you. Three Hebrew children who faced the wrath of the king for not bowing down to his golden image. Three men who said, “We know God can deliver us, we believe He will, but even if He doesn’t . . .” I hope God grants me that grace of character strength.

One of the things that I am praying these days is that God help me discern the voice of “godly counselors” and heed their wisdom, while avoiding the traps of those who have their own agendas and would seek to intimidate or control. I am praying that God help me remain faithful and true to the Vision that He has given. Someone has often reminded us, “It is not how you start, but how you finish.” I am praying that God might enable me to finish well.

A scripture verse that God has recently brought to my attention helps keep it all in focus.”Whoever speaks, (let him speak) as one who speaks the oracles of God, whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies – in order that in everything God maybe glorified through Jesus Christ. To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.”
(I Peter 4:11)

Leave a Reply

