Cookies! Yummm.

Posted: June 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

I love oatmeal and raisin cookies. They must be good for you because they have oatmeal and raisins. But I am trying to resist the temptation, and remain steadfast to my diet. But for some people, temptation is a moment by moment battle.

The Bible says, “There has no tempation overtaken you, but such as is common to man, and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond the point of saying ‘No’, and will with the temptation provide a way of escape.” (I Cor. 10:13). Look at the promises in that passage. God is faithful.

Let’s unppack that verse a moment. It seems satan is so busy tempting people, that he doesn’t have time to dream up new temptations. That does not mean every single person faces every single temptation. It does mean, that there is nothing new under the sun, and we are not the only ones being tempted by whatever stirs our appetites. While God does not tempt anyone, we learn from the story of Job, that He allows Satan to tempt us. But He never allows us to be tempted to a point that overcomes our will to say “No”. We can always say, “No”. And He always provides a door of escape for us to walk through.

Some things do not tempt me. I am not tempted to smoke cigarettes. My Dad died from lung cancer, and I never have understood the fascination with it. Yes, as a teenage boy, I tried one or two. But I never liked them. Someone said, “It is an acquired taste.” But the question is, “Why would I want to acquire such a taste.” Now too many oatmeal cookies, key lime pie, or chocolate pound cake. I am tempted all day long.

I don’t know what Satan may tempt you with, but remember that God will draw a line of limitation on that temptation, and He ALWAYS provides a way for you to escape.

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    I remember meeting with you before we joined Beulah and I remember you speaking on this. What I found new about this one, and loved: “But He never allows us to be tempted to a point that overcomes our will to say “No”.” I don’t recall you ever saying this exactly. I’ve heard it different ways and I have heard you say numerous times, “He will provide you with a way out”. However the words, “that overcomes your will to say “No” really just helped with some things I have been struggling with lately. Thanks!

  2. An encouraging word! And thanks be to God for His faithfulness and the way of escape!

  3. Rachel Flemming says:

    French fries Yum Yum, the only time I can give up french fries is when I am fasting, however it seems as if I am eating them less. Drawing closer to God will help prevent Christians from giving in to temptation. His way of escape is found in the power of the Holy Spirit that lives in us. The Holy Spirit gives us the strength to stand against evil desires (James 4:6). Can the pleasure found in eating an abundance of cookies and french fries be evil desires or lessor evils?
    A deeper thought has come into my mind regarding temptation. When a Christian, is tempted by the pleasures of the world and say, yes; can a Christian be viewed as an adulterer because he or she has broken his or her love relationship with God by not being faithful to Him? Does that make sense?

  4. Rachel Flemming says:

    I just read that temptation comes from the lure of our own evil deisres and that we can resist the temtpation to sin by turning to God and making the choice to obey His Word (James 1: 13,14).

Leave a Reply

