I Was Obese

Posted: July 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

About two and a half months ago I had to go to the doctor’s office. As usual they weighed me. I was 262 pounds. I thought “are you kidding me?” so when I got back to my office and weighed on the scales there. I knew it would comfort me. “WHAT? 262 pounds.”

Quickly I went to the Internet and found the chart for people my height (6 ft), to see what my weight meant. It didn’t say, overweight by me. It said OBESE. And I am pretty sure it wanted to tell me I was pretty stink in’ fat.

I weighed 175 when I finished college. No way did I want to keep going in that upward direction until I hit 275. So what to do? A friend gave me a few packs of “shakeology” from Team Beachbody. Now I am 60 years old and I am pretty sure I won’t ever model as “mr. Beach body.” But I was desperate. So I decided yo try it. I sampled three flavors. One yucky green one, and then a delicious chocolate and strawberry tropical. “OK, I can do this.”

So I ordered a month’s supply, and started walking each morning. Practicing a little self-control the rest of the time so that I ate better, and the journey began. I have since discovered that these shakes (I have them for breakfast) have all kinds of great nutritional stuff in them. I learned the developers of Beach Body have marketed this to help people get in shape, and even make money with their own business if they choose.

I was skeptical about the business part myself, until I learned my friend had been doing it for a couple years and was earning six figures.

So yesterday, I weighed at my office. 225 pounds. Do the math. That is 37 pounds so far. And I cheated on this for two weeks while on vacation. I am pretty excited. If you want to know more, just ask.

Comments
  1. cindymj2 says:

    Looks like I’m going to need more information on this topic! I just can’t seem to shed anything in the last two years. Back surgery and inactivity have messed me up and now I’m in a rut…eat too much, move too little. Where does one get the shakeology packets?

Leave a Reply

