Why Not?

Posted: July 23, 2012 in Uncategorized


“Some men see things as they are and say why – I dream things that never were and say why not.” – Copy to Clipboard
— George Bernard Shaw

Can we not apply that quote to the church in America? When I read Acts 2, and Acts 4, and almost all of the book of Acts, I see a different church that what I have experienced all my life in America. I saw glimmers of that type church in West Africa out in the bush village.

So when we compare the scripture to our reality, some people say, “That was then. Don’t expect that now.” My question is “Why not?” Why can we not be of one heart and one mind? Why can we not multiply at such an incredible rate? Why can we not be a Mosaic like the church in Antioch? Shouldn’t the church be a place of multi colors made of the broken pieces of lives marred by sin, but reconstructed into a beautiful piece of art by the hands of the Lord Jesus Christ? Will we continue to settle for less that what God intended?

August 28, 1963, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. said, “I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin,but by the content of their character.” I have a dream also. I dream that one day we will evaluate the character of our churches by the Words of the Bible, and not by our experience in our childhood, or some other point in time when we were impressed by man’s creative skills

Leave a Reply

