Stupid is as Stupid Does.

Posted: August 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

Ever have one of those “aha” moments. I did the other day. One that made me feel so stupid for so long. I have read the story of Peter and Cornelius in Acts 10, and Jesus sending out the 70 in pairs in Luke 10 many times. I had adopted strategy from them for the Mission field.

But I missed the strategy ultimately as it applies to the context where I serve as pastor. So if Momma is right, if “stupid is as stupid does” then I have been pretty stupid.Because I saw the stragegy, but I never adopted it. So I acted stupidly. But if indeed Jesus gave us the strategy, then we should employ it.

In Luke 10 he told the disciples as they went out into villages to seek out the Person of Peace. Who is that? It is the person that God is already preparing their heart to receive the Gospel. We see it illustrated in Acts 10. At the same time that God was preparing Peter to go and witness, God was also preparing Cornelius to receive the witness. But not only that, also his household.

So the strategy is really quite simple. We witness as often as we can until we find the “Persons of Peace” in our community. Then we know God is working in their hearts, and their household. We build a community of discovery of who Jesus is around them. Now, how do we get others to understand, because if stupid really is as stupid does, I am not the only one.

Leave a Reply

