Who’s Your Daddy?

Posted: August 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

I was having a conversation with a good friend yesterday about our identity in Christ. He said, “I’m just a sinner, saved by grace.” I do not agree. Yes, I am a sinner saved by grace, but not “just”. God has made me so much more in Christ. When a person trusts Jesus Christ to be their Savior, the Bible teaches that Jesus is in them, and they are in Jesus. We become one.

In Matthew 23:9, Jesus said, “Call no man on earth your Father.” He went on to say our only Father is in heaven. When Jesus gave to us what we call the Lord’s prayer, we translated the Greek Word, “Abba” as Father, but it is more closely akin to the term Daddy. So I raise the question, ‘Who’s your Daddy?”

The Bible says that we were created to bear the image of God. That image of God was marred by sin. Isaiah 52 says that on the cross Jesus was marred beyond the point of recognition. Because of that the image of God can be restored in us. And God said, “You are worth the blood of my son to me.”

So who is your Daddy? My Daddy says, “I will never leave nor forsake you.” My Daddy says, “There is no condemnation for you because you are in Christ.” My daddy says, ‘Nothing can separate you from my love.”
Because He was forsaken for a moment, I will never be forsaken. Because He bore my sins and shame and guilt, I am free to be who God says I am. I am a blood bought child of the King. I am here to be love and share love with a lost world. I am here to bear the image of the Light of the world in the darkness all around me.

Leave a Reply

