Identity Theft

Posted: August 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

Let me ask you a question this morning: Who are you? Are you what you do? For example, if your vocation is as a doctor, are you doctor? Is that who you are? Not are you A doctor, but are you doctor? Or are you what the voices in your head tell you that you are? Maybe as a child you constantly heard negative messages, “You will never amount to anything.” So are you what those messages say?

Maybe you have taken your identity from other people’s words. Do you find your identity in what other people say about you?

The Bible says that “man” was originally created in the image of God. So let that sink in. We were created, everyone of us, to bear the image of God. The problem is “sin messed it up”. Some speak of total depravity, meaning the image of God was completely eradicated. Isaiah 52 says of Jesus that on the cross he was “marred” beyond recognition. I think that describes the image of God in us. It was “marred” beyond recognition.

The Word of God teaches that God equated our value individually as equal to the blood of His Son being shed in our behalf on a cross.Let that sink in. God finds me to be of extreme value in His eyes. When I receive His love by placing my faith in Christ, God begins restoring the His image in me. So this morning: Who are you?

I am an “image bearer” of God. I was created in my mother’s womb by the hand of the Almighty to let my light so shine before men that they might see my good works and give glory to my Father in heaven. (Matthew 5:16). And I am pretty valuable. God says so. I am equal in worth to the shed blood of Jesus Christ. That is what God set my price at. That is what He agreed to pay to purchase my redemption.

I am not what I do. I am not what the voices of my past may say in my head. I am not what other people say about me. God says I am His image bearer and I am worth the blood of His Son. What about you?

Leave a Reply

