The Fall of America? or the Best Yet Ahead?

Posted: November 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

BARACK OBAMA RE-ELECTED said the headlines this morning all around the world. And some doomsdayers are crying in alarm that America’s fate is sealed. Others are jubilant with expedtation of a better America. Which ones are right, and honestly I know where most of those who read my blogs stand.

But earlier this year my good friends in Mali awoke to a nation where the military ousted the President and assumed control of the government. Rebel Touregs then aligned with muslim extremists and proceeded to conquer the northern part of the country and declare their independence. That allegiance fell apart and yet the north has become the latest haven for world terrorists.

So I suspect my f to friends in Mali would have gladly stood in line for four to five hours yesterday to choose their President. So let me suggest two thoughts. First, the Bible says that the “heart of the King” is in the hands of the Lord and He can turn it whichever way He chooses.” I suspect that includes all leaders, even the President. Second, the Bible tells us to pray for our government leaders.

WHichever side you stand on, we all have a responsibility to pray for our nation, our President, our future. The Bible also promises, “If my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray, and seek my face, then will I hear from heaven, forgive their sins, and heal their land.” I saw a post on Facebook this morning where one beleiver has given up and pronounced doom on our nation. He may be right. But as many times as God has shown compassion, I will still cry out to Him. As some of the prophets have said in years gone by, “Who knows, but maybe God will hear our petitions and turn His anger.”

Comments
  1. Rick Toburen says:

    A good word, Brad. A good word indeed

  2. jaycrisman says:

    Yeah, someone who actually understands how Christians should respect their government!

Leave a Reply

