A Discipleship Revival

Posted: May 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

7428-41349

All my life I have heard talk of the Great Commission in the churches with which I have been associated. In all of these there has been talk of the mission of Christ. But what does the Great Commission really call us to do? How well have we obeyed?

The Great Commission is given in numerous texts, but none are more familiar than Matthew 28:18-20. In that passage the imperative verb is “Make disciples”. We are commanded to “Go” and in our going to “Make disciples” of every people group in the world. There has been a lot of “going”, and at times a lot of “preaching” and multitudes of good deeds. But how well are we doing in “Making disciples.”

Let’s agree on a simple definition of discipleship. I love the statement that Jim Putman made in is book, Real Life Discipleship. He says that the definition of discipleship is found in the invitation to discipleship. In Matt. 4:19 we read, Jesus said, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.”
So a disciple is someone who is following Jesus, being transformed by Jesus, and has adopted the mission of Jesus.

I would suggest to you today that we need a fresh wind of the Spirit of God to breathe on the church of the living God today that revives our focus on “making disciples.” Disciples do not just accidentally happen. There is an intentionality to the mission. Paul told his young protégé, Timothy, “The things you have heard from me, in the presence of many witnesses, these same thing entrust to faithful men who will be able to train others also.” There are four generations there. Paul is generation one, Timothy is generation two. Generation three are faithful men who train others, generation four.

We need a revival of training trainers who train trainers in our churches today. No, not another program. A return to the intentional discipleship process taught us by Jesus on the pages of the Gospels, and modeled for us in the book of Acts. To God be the glory.

Comments
  1. Wendy says:

    Two things in this writing stood out to me and I thought on—
    I cannot fish for men unless I follow (to go, proceed, or come after,to be or act in accordance with,to seek to attain) Jesus…and then He will cause (make) me fish for men. It will be the thing I want to do because I am following Jesus.
    Also I must be faithful in order to train others. Faithful (constant, dedicated, devoted, devout, down-the-line, fast, good, loyal, pious, staunch, steadfast, steady, true). Am I faithful to Jesus or to myself?

    • It stands out to me that Jesus said, “Follow me, and I WILL MAKE YOU fishers of men.” There is a cause and affect. If we follow Jesus He makes us fishers of men. He doesn’t say I might but I will. So if we are not fishing for men, then who are we following? It is certainly not Jesus.

Leave a Reply

