The Greatest Gift My Mom Gave Me

Posted: May 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

mothers-day-love

I am confident that I must have disappointed my mother so many times in my life. But I do not remember her ever saying she was disappointed in me. I know there were multitudes of times that I had to confide in her some failure in my life, but she always instilled in me the awareness that she believed I could do better, or be better.

My Dad taught me that honesty and integrity mattered. My Dad taught me that anything worth doing was worth doing right. My Dad taught me to give my best in anything I attempted to do. My Dad taught me to fish and how to do a science project. My Dad taught me the value of a hard day’s work.

But my Mom taught me the value of love, and she modeled it for me all my life. When I found myself in deep and difficult places she was always there. My Mother has never quit worrying whether I get home safely from a trip, even though I am
almost 62 years old. My Mom can sometimes find things to worry about for me when
there is nothing to worry about. But I know that is because she loves so deeply.

The Bible teaches, “So these three remain, faith, hope, and love. And the greatest of these is love.” The Bible teaches that God loves us with an unconditional love. My Mom has modeled that unconditional love for me all of my 62 years. Thank you for loving me, Mom. Thanks for teaching me about love, and always modeling unconditional love. Thank you for believing in me, no matter what. Thank you for teaching me no matter how many times I might fall and fail that your love will never waver. Thank you for giving me strength and courage to get back up. Because in your love for me, I have seen the heavenly Father’s love. Happy Mother’s Day. I love you.

Leave a Reply

