The Enemy of Great

Posted: May 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

Businessman multitasking

Have you ever thought, “If I ever had an extra set of arms, I could get more done?” Have you ever thought, “Wow, we really have a lot of good things going on at our church?” Is it possible that you are so busy doing good things, that you cannot do the best things? I remember years ago hearing someone say, “The main thing, is to keep the main thing, the main thing.”

I began reading through Nehemiah again this morning. Nehemiah is the man who God used to lead the people to rebuild the walls around Jerusalem, remember? He wasn’t a prophet. He wasn’t a priest. He was the cup-bearer of King Artaxerxes.

Nehemiah had some enemies constantly resisting him. And in Chapter 6, one of those enemies comes and says, “Nehemiah, come down from the work and let’s reason together and talk about this.” In one of my favorite moments in this book, Nehemiah answers and says, “No, I will not stop what I am doing, because I am doing a great work.”

How easily are you distracted from God’s work? I know it is a constant battle to maintain the focus where God desires. Sometimes the “tyranny of the urgent” gets in the way of us focusing and doing the essential. Jesus called us to “Make disciples.”
Is it possible that many Christians and Churches are so busy doing “Good things” for God, that they cannot do the “Great work” that God has called us to. Jesus said, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” He didn’t call us to settle for doing a lot of good things. He called us to do the one great work He has given us.

Comments
  1. Jay Floyd says:

    How ODD is this. My blog this morning was on Distractions…..I’m officially freaked out…. in a good way… http://www.jayfloyd.com/distractions

Leave a Reply

