Grace is Free, But it ain’t Cheap!

Posted: June 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

The apostle Paul wrote to the Galatians, some of whom were being confused with a distortion of the Gospel being preached by some, “If we or an angel from heaven should preach to you a gospel other than what we have preached to you, a curse be on him.” (Gal. 1:8) When I traveled to southern Nigeria a few years ago I was appalled at the posters littering every street corner promoting the lies of the “prosperity gospel.” It was sickening, disgusting, even infuriating. I have no doubt that the “health and wealth” preachers of western pseudo churches had exported the lies.

God offers to us salvation through faith, all by His grace in Christ. It is freely offered to us. But it cost God everything. As someone said, “We owed a debt we could not pay. He paid a debt He did not owe.” Jesus indeed paid it all. He purchased our pardon. And the Word of God promises, “Whoever calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” (Rom. 10:13)

The Bible I read tells me that many who follow Jesus must give up everything and receive very little in return in this world. I read about surrendering our all and of Jesus warning that we will be persecuted and we may even die. When John the Baptist, Jesus’ half cousin, writes to ask if He is the Messiah, Jesus essentially tells him that he is not going to be rescued, but will die and not to fall away. Jesus assures Peter in John 21 that he will die. Read the last part of Hebrews 11.

Peter told the beggar outside the temple, “Silver and Gold have I none.” Honestly, I am tired of preachers and evangelists in it for the fame and fortune. I am messaged on FB every single day by someone from some part of our world telling me they are an evangelist or a pastor and they need me to send money to support their ministry. I believe in providing financial support for God’s people, and I do my best. I am one who lives now on the faith gifts and support of God’s people. But I want to just simply declare following Jesus may cost you everything. It is free, but it ain’t cheap.

Jesus said if we follow Him we need to remember that He, the Son of man has no where to lay His head. I cannot find in my Bible that the harvest of me sowing a “seed” of money is going to return to me a profit that makes me one of the financially elite. Oh, yes, I can extract some verses here and there and out of the context of the Bible make them say something to serve my needs. But when I stand before my Maker, I do not want to be cursed for preaching any Gospel other than the one clearly declared in Scripture. Jesus came according to the Scriptures. He died on a cross to pay the debt of sinners, of whom as Paul said, I am chief. He rose again on the third day, according to scriptures. If anyone will repent and place their faith in Christ, and Christ alone, they will be saved. Period. It is a free gift, but it is not cheap by any stretch. It cost God everything. It will cost you or me everything in full surrender. Some may be blessed financially, but always in order to bless others. Some may suffer, and even die. Let’s tell the real truth.

Comments
  1. jsmcwdmc1946 says:

    You are right on, Brad. Keep telling as the Scriptures tell it!!
    In Him,
    Jerry

Leave a Reply

