“Hold the pickles, add cheese” Church

Posted: June 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

hamburger

I don’t understand why my children don’t remember the best commercial jingles. Burger King’s most famous slogan was, “Have it your way,” to laud their superiority over McDonald’s. I can still hear the tune, and even the words, “Hold the pickles, hold the lettuce, special orders don’t upset us. . .” So why don’t my kids remember? Oh, yeah, they weren’t around in 1974. But didn’t they revive it in 2005 with Darius Rucker? Maybe I am just confused.

What I truly don’t get, however, is why we think we can apply this to the church. I understand our sin nature is marked with a gigantic “I” in the middle: sIn. I truly understand that we are essentially very selfish. But when we read the words of Christ, why do we still think that we can “have it our way.” Jesus said, “If anyone would follow me, He must deny Himself, take up His cross, and follow me.” That just trumpets loud and clear that “No, we cannot have it our way.”

Jesus didn’t say, “I will custom design a church out there to your taste.” He didn’t say, “Just shop around until you find one where you are comfortable.” Jesus did say, “I will build MY church.”
Maybe I am hung up on this, but why do so many 21st century western churches think that “Mission” is optional? I know we typically say, “Missions” with an “s”, but there really is only one mission, the Great Commission. Yes, there are multitudes of ministries, but one mission.

I guess I could be quiet about this. I am certain that I won’t grow a “mega” super ginormous crowd on Sundays with gigantic offerings by trumpeting missional note over a message that communicates, “It’s all about you.” But one day every Church, every preacher, every Christian, we are all going to stand before God. And we will remember clearly we are “stewards” of an incredible treasure called the Gospel. So isn’t it better to call people to mission now?

I was speaking to someone yesterday, a friend, and he was saying, “Not all churches are going to do this.” That may be true, but it isn’t right. Let’s revive the old hymn in our hearts today:
There’s a call comes ringing over the restless wave,
“Send the light! Send the light!”
There are souls to rescue there are souls to save,
Send the light! Send the light!
Refrain

Send the light, the blessèd Gospel light;
Let it shine from shore to shore!
Send the light, the blessèd Gospel light;
Let it shine forevermore!

We have heard the Macedonian call today,
“Send the light! Send the light!”
And a golden offering at the cross we lay,
Send the light! Send the light!

Refrain

Leave a Reply

