Brand New!

Posted: June 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I like new! I like a new day, for example. Right now as I write this blog, I am sitting on my back porch swing and it is raining. The air smells clean and crisp. The morning holds out promise for the day ahead. I hear birds, in spite of the rain, chirping and singing to welcome the dawn. It’s a new day. New years offer the same kind of promise.

What if your life could be brand new? All of us are born with a sin nature, and most of us have made plenty of mistakes in our lives. I have heard some say from time to time as they looked back over their lives, “I have no regrets.”. I don’t know whether to believe them or just think quietly, you are not being honest. I cannot say that I have no regrets. I have messed up plenty. I It regret many decisions that I have made.

One of my favorite verses of scripture is 2 Corinthians 5:17. It offers the hope of a “new beginning.” It says, “Therefore, if anyone be in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away, behold all things have become new.” But there is even more than hope in this verse. There is an absoluteness to the promise.

God doesn’t say that if we are in Christ, we might be made new. He says we are made new. It is absolutely impossible to be related to Jesus Christ and not be changed. You can disagree with this statement if you want to, but I didn’t say it, God did.

I put a picture of a mento candy being dropped into a soda, and the chemical reaction that occurs. If you dropped it in and could immediate cap the bottle, it would explode. It is impossible to stop what happens. When a person becomes a follower of Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit indwells that person and it is impossible to stop the change that God produces.
So if a person isn’t changed, well, . . . you do the math.

Leave a Reply

