If Jesus was on Facebook (Really)

Posted: July 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

Jesus-Facebook-Page

This morning I sent a friend request to someone and was greeted with the message from the FB police that this person had reached their maximum number of friends (Seriously?). Accompanying that message was another statement; you are now following that person. So I thought, if Jesus really authored a facebook page, and then someone sent him a friend request, no doubt Jesus would have already passed His limit. Then the message, “you are now following Him.”

Can I get an “Easy” button? I mean, seriously, simply send a friend request to Jesus and get a message saying “You are now following Jesus.” That is a lot different than what we read in Matthew 4:19, when Jesus says to Simon, “Follow me, and I will make you to be a fisher of men.” The scripture says that Simon left everything and followed Jesus. He, along with his brother Andrew, and then the brothers James and John, left their fishing boats and gave all of their lives to Jesus.

One man said, “Jesus, I will follow you, but let me first go bury my dead father.” Jesus said, “Let the dead bury the dead.” To another Jesus warned, “Foxes have holes, birds have nests, but the son of man has no where to lay his head.” One man left sorrowful because Jesus told him to go sell everything that he had and then follow him.

Ands if Jesus had a Facebook Page promoting His ministry, how many people would just “like” that ministry, rather than praying for Him, helping to pay the bills of the ministry, and even coming alongside and working together with Him. Imagine telling everyone, I am following Jesus on Facebook. I “Liked” his page.

So maybe I have carried this to the absurd. But think about the shape of many of our churches. Think about the multitudes who are pew sitters, but little more. “I’m following Jesus,” they think. Jesus said, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny Himself, take up His cross, and come follow me.”

Leave a Reply

