5578299322_14502cc7d7_z

The other morning I was looking for a picture to illustrate a post. I ran across a news photo in which a man held a sign in one hand that said, “God hates ___s,” and then in the other hand another that said, “____s go to hell and God laughs.” It immediately reminded me of Jesus looking upon the city of Jerusalem, lamenting the people’s stubbornness and continued rejection of God, and He wept. (Luke 19:41-44)

I remember a day in my theology class in seminary when the professor asked, “Is God in hell?” It was never unusual for him to ask questions that challenged our thought processes. He pointed us to Psalm 139, “If I ascend to heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.” (v.8). Then the professor made two other comments that I clearly remember. First, he said, “Hell, is like an ulcer in the pit of God’s stomach.” And then he said, “If you picture hell and feel a sense of joy over anyone spending eternity there, then you don’t really believe in hell.”

The Bible teaches, “God is love.” (I John 4). Love is the essence of God. It is who He is. Love excludes the possibility of hate, in my opinion</strong I absolutely believe in the "wrath of God". I believe that an unrepentant sinner who never trusts in Jesus Christ will indeed spend an eternity in a horrific hell. But I do not believe that God laughs. I believe that He weeps. I believe God loves sinners, no matter how heinous their sin. I also believe that He absolutely hates their sin. That is why He took on human flesh and came and died on a cross where He became the sin-bearer. I believe that God crucified sin, and that He forgives sins. And I believe those things because I believe that is what the Bible teaches.

One of my very favorite scenes in the movie, The Passsion, is where while Jesus is on the cross, a giant tear drop falls from heaven. The Bible says, “God made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.”(2 COr. 5:21) As God looked upon Jesus Christ on the cross and saw all of the sins of all of the people of all of history, I believe indeed He wept. Grief is an emotion that springs from love.

That is my “unleashed” perspective on this subject on this the 2nd day of August, 2013, in the year of our Lord.

Leave a Reply

